The Shores of Heaven

The Storms have spent their fury- the thunderstorm is over- Job has been censured before the face of humankind- the Lord and Job have come to an understanding… Job is blessed and has received everything¬†double. -This is called a repetition.

Kierkegaard. Repetition.

Paul,

Where is Jesus? Where? I have circled this well now innumerable times, I have dragged my fingers along the wall till it turned pink. These little bricks are so cute, I must admit, whoever laid them must have felt the greatest pleasure. Did he start from down here? Then work his way up? Did he start from the top?

He must have thought we were stupid, why else would he have become mortal? No, no one is mortal. Yes, this has been my latest big idea. Any human is not mortal, human’s have not been mortal. We are fit for eternity, that is, we have always had a foot in eternity. No, he is not mortal, he is human. Why did Jesus become human?

To hold my hand, to hold our hands, Jesus became human. Nothing less. We are that stupid, we can only recognize like- for like. He speaks our babble. His body is in heaven, our babble with him, so we know what to expect. He is teaching us how to desire from both sides of eternity…

As Seneca once said, I imagine him in a mud pile, ‘we are immortal in all that we desire.’

But lest I forget because of my hollow mind, he really said, ‘we are mortal in all that we fear.’

Job, are you there? You told me to knock whenever I wanted, I have been wanting to for days. Answer, please. Have you thought about God and his desires, how they are the same from Heaven to Earth? Heaven to Hell? What a repetition! I would have never known if Jesus hadn’t become man. He became his nature, his nature became him.

What was the temptation like? If it weren’t the clash of the mortal with immortal! How is it to be human in Heaven! Paul was this the rapture, the mystery you once saw, that you now keep hidden in a wound. Is this the third Heaven?

In the deepest desires,

~Your faithful child

About Rene Diebenkorn

Lifetime Artist. ETC.

Leave a Reply

