Beauty in a Tube

Beauty is not the platonically pure beginning but rather something that originated in the renunciation of what was once feared, which only as a result of this renunciation … became the ugly.

Aesthetic Theory. Adorno.

‘This shirt?’ Paul lifts up a red shirt. ‘This shirt?’ A pink shirt. Paul stands in a pile of clothing. Now, Paul’s head is stuck in the pink shirt. ‘I know I am getting closer,’ Paul’s voice cracks like a little girl, ‘the more I throw aside, the more I don’t fit.’

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ

Philippians 3:8

‘All this is shit- rubbish,’ Paul yawns, ‘like the insides of Satan.’ Paul begins to pull a thread of cotton. Black. White. Pink. Red. The colors mix, the thread elongates. ‘Surpassing worth,’ Paul chatters, ‘like digesting, eating.’

And we all, with unveiled face, reflecting the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another.

2 Cor 3:18

‘With unveiled face, we close our mouths,’ Paul gropes as his eyes crust in the wind, ‘I catch the slightest bit of power, beauty of God. I chew.’ I see the wind blow in one ear and out the other. Escaping like pom-poms, there must have been a circus of mirrors to bounce off. Paul’s body flickers, like confetti, rainbow colors. ‘In degrees, in degreess,’ Paul buttons out. He is reflecting glory from inside.

About Rene Diebenkorn

Lifetime Artist. ETC.

Leave a Reply

