See What You See

Then turning to the disciples he said privately, ‘Blessed are the eyes that see what you see!..

Luke 10: 23

“Look, look,” Paul dives to the floor, “in here!” A little pool of water is sitting stagnant in a crack. “Don’t touch,” Paul whispers to me, “feel it.”

I curl beside Paul, he looks at me then back in the water. “O this is so beautiful, I wish I could swim on the surface.” Paul wiggles his feet beneath his belly. “Blessed are my eyes.”

Then Paul, without moving a beat, picks up a piece of glass. The glass is dark, almost black, like dragged beneath a car. Moving his hands, the light begins to flicker, he places the glass between his eye and the water. Then between him and me.

I can see Paul’s eyes. One is bloodshot as if the vessels had burst upon his eyelashes and consumed his cornea. And a line, a line across his nose.

The glass is a mirror.

“Monstrous,” Paul shackles, “absolutely monstrous.” He picks and combs his hair from his nose. A dark chalk lands upon his nose. “I am disgusting,” Paul resigns.

I know I am, I reply, it’s my eye. I haven’t been able to see out of my right eye for weeks.

About Rene Diebenkorn

Lifetime Artist. ETC.

Leave a Reply

